Four KARA members leave DSP Media

The Kpop world is being hit by another shockwave! Four members of popular girl group KARA are leaving their talent agency Daesung Entertainment (DSP Media).

Han Seungyeon, Goo Hara, Jung Nicole and Kang Jiyoung filed notices to terminate their exclusive contracts with DSP Media on Jan 19. The only member who has not done so is leader Park Gyuri.

PhotobucketBETTER DAYS: KARA from left to right are Jiyoung, Seungyeon, Gyuri, Nicole and Hara

The girls cited unfairness as the main reason for leaving (Hmm, do I smell jealously towards, Gyuri? – Liz). They also expressed that they had lost their confidence in DSP Media.  As such, the status of their current and future activites remain uncertain, in particular their new Japanese drama, Urakara.

This news is not only a huge blow to their fans around the world, but also DSP Media, which had previously lost Kim Hyun Joong (leader of SS501) about 7 months ago.

Meanwhile, reports of DSP Media applying for trademark rights for the name KARA have surfaced and speculation has been rife on whether or not the agency had predicted the girls’ move earlier.

The girls’ sudden decision to leave has been likened to the departure of TVXQ members Jaejoong, Yoochun and Junsu from S.M. Entertainment.

Well, it looks like there will be another controversial legal battle in the Kpop music industry.

As we wait for things to unfold, let’s watch the girls in action in their Jumping MV.

Update: KARA’s SeungYeon may also retract contract termination

User Review
0 (0 votes)

One Response

  1. estefania February 1, 2013

Add Comment