[Event Coverage] TWICE fulfilled their promise to Malaysian ONCE with TWICELIGHTS in KL.

It was one of the saddest days in July last year for Malaysian Once (TWICE’s fanclub name) when it was announced that the TWICE 2nd World Tour Twiceland 2018 in Kuala Lumpur was cancelled. Fans rejoiced again when JYP Entertainment added Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia to the list of venues for TWICELIGHTS TWICE World Tour 2019.

The day that ONCEs waited for finally came and Axiata Arena was swarmed with fans who adorned clothes with the group’s name or their favorite member’s name. Fans were seen with their TWICE lightsticks (dubbed the Candy Bong) and some even came exchanging fan goods with each other.

Few minutes before 4.30pm, the lights were dimmed in the stadium, and loud cheers from the boys (most of the fans in attendance today) can be heard. A VCR of the girls were shown before shortly coming up on stage in black and sparkly ensemble and started the show with a rock remix of Stuck In My Head. That was the beginning of a deafening screaming from the boys all around the stadium. TWICE then continued performing Cheer Up and Touchdown, both with a rock remix before introducing themselves to the screaming fans.

TWICE, with 8 members sans Mina who was absent due to extreme anxiety, introduced themselves in Malay during their first ‘ment’ and garnered cheers from the fans. The leader of the group, Jihyo said that the memory of what happened last year is still fresh in her mind and that the group is thankful to be able to perform for their fans this year and also thanked the fans for their unwavering support.

The girls then continued with Bulldozer (BDZ), Yes or Yes, before disappearing back stage and appeared in a band ensemble and performed a cover of the Jackson 5’s I Want You Back and one of their hits, Dance the Night Away.

Another change of clothes and a dreamy VCR later, the girls showed up once again, in white dresses and performed After Moon, You In My Heart and Sunset on the extended stage, bringing them closer to the fans.  While still in their white dresses, the group continued with an intro to Heart Shaker before once again, disappearing backstage and emerged in fiery red outfits and continued with the remaining of the song.

Other than performing as a group, the girls also performed as 3 sub units, with Sana, Dahyun and Tzuyu in a group and performed a sexy cover of Beyonce’s Dance For You, while Jihyo and Momo danced a powerful cover of SHINee’s Taemin’s Goodbye. The final unit performance, dubbed the unit with the best visuals which consists of Nayeon, Jeongyeon and Chaeyoung, performed Lady Gaga’s Born This Way.

TWICE weren’t the only ones performing that night, as ONCE prepared a surprise for the group. Right before the group’s encore, a fan made video was shown on screen depicting the excitement of the Malaysian fans on finding out that their idols will be performing in Malaysia. Then, a lyric video of ‘Be As One’ was shown, in which the whole stadium sang together and touched the members which received comments from them such as ‘ONCE, kamu paling baik’ (ONCE, you are the best), ‘Saya tak akan lupa malam ini’ (I won’t forget tonight) and ‘Terima kasih kerana datang’ (Thank you for coming).

The group closed the show with a playful stage of Knock Knock and Stuck before waving goodbye to the fans and leaving hopes of all 9 members to once again grace our shores next year.


Song List

  1. Intro and Stuck In My Head
  2. Cheer Up
  3. Touch Down
  4. BDZ (Bulldozer)
  5. Yes or Yes
  6. I Want You Back
  7. Dance The Night Away
  8. Intro and After Moon
  9. You In My Heart
  10. Sunset
  11. Heart Shaker
  12. Strawberry
  13. Woohoo
  14. Dance For You (Sana, Dahyun, Tzuyu)
  15. Goodbye (Momo, Jihyo)
  16. Born This Way (Chaeyeon, Jeongyeong, Nayeon)
  17. Turn It Up
  18. Likey
  19. What Is Love
  20. Like Ooh-Aah
  21. T.T
  22. Fancy
  23. Signal
  24. Knock Knock
  25. Stuck
User Review
0 (0 votes)